Blog: 14 “Who Uses Facebook and Why?” & “A Reply to Facebook Critics” by Facebook and Phliosphy


These were two short readings, starting with “Who Uses Facebook and Why?” talks mainly about SNS’s, Social Network Sites. It says that 1 our or 3 Americans have and use Facebook. Studies have also found that children and teens do not always use Facebook, older people do use the site but Facebook is geared toward younger people. The reading talked about the Digital Drive, DD, which is a division between those who do and those who don’t have effective access to digital communications (i.e. lack of a computer, internet connection, computer skills, etc). This reading also talked about how SNS could be used as a tool to help promote a more balanced use of information through ‘pages.’ Which is something I have talked about in class and a topic that comes up a few of my other classes. SNS are also growing and are making a bigger gap between those that are more privileged to those who are less fortunate. In hope that SNS, like Facebook, will empower less privileged groups and expose people to others, new ideas, and new opinions. If Facebook is a tool that will help us connect we can learn more about things that are as close as our community or on the other side of the world. SNS also make it easier to communicated with anyone and everyone, it is a communication network.

The second reading, “A Reply to Facebook Critics,” explains how people use and interact with Facebook. It starts off with saying, “the things on Facebook are really pretty meaningless. Not that they can’t have meaning, but simply that they don’t. Or, at least, they don’t until we get our collective hands on them,” (top of pg xxii). I thought this made an excellent point. An example that was used in the reading was the “poke” a thing you do on Facebook, but why? What does it mean? Is it “someone trying to communicate with [you],” is it “a non-verbal ‘hello’,” or a flirty “kind of game of poke-and-poke-back,” or “can it be a reminder” from one friend to another (pg xxxii)? “How are we going to decide what has value and meaning in the world?” (pg xxiii)  The reading also talks about why we post things that are not important, in the section called “why I Care about Your Sandwich,” and it explains that I would care about what your having for dinner because I care about what I’m having. “Not because it’s important , or meaning, or noteworthy, but because I’m viewing it from the inside,” (pg xxvii). This reading concludes with questions; “Is Facebook a…waste of time? …Are people [a waste of time]? Is friendship?” “None cab be without our caring investment in the members of your own personal communities-by choice, by circumstance, or by birth,” (pg xxx).

Interesting discussion, I found that I agree with everything that is said in these readings. I see Facebook as a social place to communicate, network, and promote yourself or a company. I can see how those with computers are more ‘privileged’ than those without. It makes since that those with out are not relieving the same kind of commutations with a worldwide audience. I’m also realistic and know that the world will have equality, there always has to be some with more power or ‘privilege’ than others.
The second article really got me thinking. When I first started using Facebook I was one of those people that posted everything about my day, what I had to eat, What I was going (even if it was watching TV, doing homework, cleaning litter boxes, etc.). Now that I’m in college and having real conversations and discussion with others on Facebook and Twitter I find that I’m posting things are would be more interesting like a YouTube video I watched in my class, an article I read of homework or pressure that really inspired me. When I see posts like, “Dinner time…chicken pasta!” I just ignore it. I have gotten to the point where I really don’t care what you are eating (unless you made it yourself and you have a picture, that I may want to see), but over all I rather read something you are truly interested in or something that you did that was out of your norm.

Please Feel Free to Leave a Reply

